Designed in the Gothic Revival style by architect W. H. Lynn, it was completed in 1875.

The Church is named after the builder James Carlisle’s son to whom he built the church.

The church was home to one of the largest Methodist congregations in Belfast.

It was closed in 1982 due to shrinking congregations and its location at a major interface between Catholic and Protestant populations.

Carlisle Circus named after the Earl of Carlisle, who was Viceroy or Ireland at the time it the circus was planned in the mid-19th century.

FOR MORE INFORMATION on guided walking tours around Belfast visit this .