Former studio of William Conor, Stranmillis. In its former guise as Cafe Conor.

A cafe is now is located on the former studio of Belfast artist William Conor. This used to be Cafe Connor but has now changed (the photograph is out of date).

Conor was born on 9th May 1881, 5 Fortingale Street. He was one of six children, five sons and one daughter his parents were William and Mary Connor Nee Wallace.

Williams talent was first noticed at the age of ten when his chalk drawings on slate attracted the attention of his music teacher at school who encouraged him to attend the Belfast Art College.

On the outset of the First World War William was commissioned by the British Government as a war artist.  

Today, Conor’s work can fetch upwards of £50,000 for a painting. Around 50 of his art works are held by the Ulster Museum.

Conor was a Unionist and Presbyterian and he changed the way Connor was spelled and removed one of the N letters to become Conor, to lessen some of the Gaelic influence to his surname.  

He was the first Irish artist to gain membership to the Royal Institute of Oil Painters and became an OBE in 1952.

He died in February 1968 and is buried at Carnmoney Cemetery.