Winecellar entry

Byadmin

Oct 12, 2022
Winecellar entry, looking west

The Belfast Entries are a series of historical narrow alleyways in the city centre of Belfast, Northern Ireland, mostly in the vicinity of High Street and Ann Street.

When the town was first laid out in the early 17th century, these alleyways serviced dense residential and commercial development.

The surviving examples retain pockets of historic development. The alley named Winecellar Entry gained its name in the early-19th century due to the number of winecellars and wine sellers that had been established along the alley.

The first pub in Belfast was probably in Winecellar Entry. In 1630, a tavern was granted a license to sell alcohol. The building that White’s bar is located today in dates from the 1790s and replaced an earlier structure.

Next door to White’s Inn are the Oyster Rooms. These were established in 1868, by proprietor John Walker, a fish monger and spirit merchant. Fished from the loughs of Belfast and Carlingford, he became known for his supply of quality oyster to the city.

A cannon of unknown origin is set into the ground as a bollard.