Queen’s Qtr

Original buildings of the Belfast Union Workhouse Infirmary being used today as Day Procedure Unit at Belfast City Hospital. Union Theological College, Queen's Quarter Memorial to Sir William Whitla, on the Whitla Hall Former Donegall Rd Public Library, Donegall Rd, south Belfast. Queen's Univeristy Belfast Coat of Arms, on front gate in front of the Lanyon Building, QUB. Queen's Univeristy Belfast War Memorial in front of the Lanyon Building, Queens University Belfast. Lanyon Building, Queens University Belfast, South Belfast. Designed by Sir Charles Lanyon and opened in 1849. The King’s Hall, south Belfast, a former events ground that is being redeveloped. Palm House, Botanic Garden, south Belfast; designed in 1840 by Charles Lanyon. Eco, entrance of the new library at Queen’s University Belfast, south Belfast. Maggie May’s, Malone Rd, south Belfast. Elmwood Hall, University Road, south Belfast. The Lynn Building, Queen’s University Belfast, built in 1913; it is now the home to The Graduate School. Thomas Thompson Memorial Fountain, Dublin Road, Belfast. Built in 1885, this was a public drinking fountain. University Road Methodist Church., built in 1864–65 to the Italianate design of W J Barre. Cresent Church, University Rd, south Belfast. University Road Methodist Church., built in 1864–65. Ella Pirrie statue, Belfast City Hospital. Superintendent and Head Nurse at the Belfast Union Workhouse Infirmary. Current use for the remaining buildings of the Belfast Union Workhouse Infirmary located at the Belfast City Hospital. Stranmillis University College, Stranmilis, part of QUB St Bartholomew's Church of Ireland church, Stranmillis Sign to St Bartholomew's Church of Ireland church, Stranmillis Daniel Kerr Building, Stranmillis, part of QUB Gothic gatehouse to Friar's Bush Cemetery, Stramillis David Kerr Building, Stranmillis, part of QUB. Ulster Museum, south Belfast Maggie May's cafe, Stranmillis Road/Malone Road Sign post in the Botanic Garden, south Belfast Lord Kelvin, Botanic Gardens Ulster Museum, south Belfast Modern entrance to the Tropical Ravine, Botanic Park, south Belfast Tropical Ravine, Botanic Park, south Belfast Palm House, Botanic Garden, south Belfast Sign at the Botanic Gardens, south Belfast Iglesia Ni Cristo - Locale of Belfast, University Avenue, south Belfast Iglesia Ni Cristo - Locale of Belfast, University Avenue, south Belfast Fitzroy Presbyterian Church, University St, south Belfast Fitzroy Presbyterian Church, University St, south Belfast Dukes at Queens Hotel, south Belfast Plaque to Sam Bell, writer and broadcaster who lived at 2 Crescent Gardens, Belfast. Plaque to Margaret Byers at the old site of Old Victoria College that she founded – now the Crescent Arts Centre – Lower Crescent, Belfast. Plaque to Helen Lewis who taught dance at the Crescent Arts Centre. University Road. Belfast. The Crescent Arts Centre. University Road. Belfast. Victoria Halls of Cresent Church, University Road. Belfast. Back of University Rd Moravian Church, south Belfast The Belfast Wheel in King William Park, a bronze map of the city which was donated by the New Belfast Community Arts Initiative. C resent Church, University Street, south Belfast Old University Rd Methodist Church from FitzWilliam Street. Smyth Halls of Great Victoria Presbyterian Church, 1932 Old opening hours of the Samaritan Hospital, Lisburn Road Former Samaritan Hospital, Lisburn Road Sign to All Souls' Church, Ellwood Avenue, south Belfast All Souls' Church, Ellwood Avenue, south Belfast Ellwood Hall, south Belfast Plaque to James Thomson, Professor of Engineering at QUB, Lanyon Building, QUB. Plaque to Edwin Godkin, Lanyon Building, QUB. Isabel Tate's name on the QUB war memorial, south Belfast. QUB war memorial, QUB, south Belfast.

This one-and-a-half hour walking tour introduces people to the sites, open spaces, built heritage and history of the Queen’s Quarter, centred around Queen’s University Belfast in south Belfast.

It will cover the urbanisation  and development of the area from medieval times to the modern day and explore the historic buildings, public art and parks in the locality.

DETAILS

  • START: The tour is 1.5 hours; departs from outside War Memorial at Queen’s University Belfast, in front of the Lanyon Building.
  • LANGUAGE: The tour will be delivered in English.
  • MEET: Below the War Memorial at Queen’s University Belfast, in front of the Lanyon Building (75 University Road, Belfast BT7 1NN).
  • END: Approximately 1.5 hours later at the War Memorial at Queen’s University Belfast, in front of the Lanyon Building.
  • INCLUDED: tour guide.
  • EXCLUDED: refreshments/transport.