The Castle built by the 3rd Marquess of Donegall in the late 1860s in the Scots Baronial architectural style and was designed by the Belfast firm of (Sir Charles) Lanyon, Lynn and Lanyon.
The 3rd Marquess’s daughter inherited the Castle in October 1883, upon his death. She was married to The 9th Earl of Shaftesbury.
The castle and its surrounding demesne was eventually gifted to the City of Belfast by Lord Shaftesbury in January 1934.
Since 1945, the castle has been a popular venue for events such as weddings or functions.
In the aftermath of the Second World War, the chapel and the lands surrounding it were detached from the Belfast Castle Demesne. These lands were redeveloped as housing estates, mainly in the 1950s and 1960s, leaving the chapel marooned in the middle of these new estates.
FOR MORE INFORMATION on guided walking tours around Belfast visit this page.